Brett Taylor

Brett G. Taylor

Brett G. Taylor is the owner and founder of Taylor Companies, which includes five different entities and companies. He is partial owner and manager of several other entities that own various oil and gas royalty assets in 26 states. Mr. Taylor has over 34 years of experience in the oil and gas industry as a Petroleum Landman. He began his career at Texas Oil and Gas Corporation in 1982. He later joined Fortson Oil Company as Land Manager and Vice President/Land. Mr. Taylor remained there for over 13 years, where he was in charge of all aspects of land management, leasing, mineral title, contracts and other legal matters related to drilling hundreds of wildcat and development prospects throughout the United States. In 1998 Mr. Taylor co-founded Neuhoff-Taylor Royalty Company, and he and his partner, Joe B. Neuhoff, began acquiring producing oil and gas minerals and royalties. Concurrently Mr. Taylor, Robert D. Ravnaas and Ben J. Fortson co-founded Kimbell Royalty Group, which is led by the Kimbell Art Foundation. Together these companies have sourced, negotiated and acquired over 160 producing royalty and mineral packages in over 26 states, including interest in millions of acres of land. Mr. Taylor and Mr. Ravnaas have led the sourcing, negotiating, and management of all land, title, engineering, accounting and legal aspects of each of these transactions for the past 18 years. The partnerships together have acquired over $600 million in assets during this period.

Mr. Taylor received his bachelor’s degree in Business Administration — Petroleum Land Management from The University of Texas at Austin in 1982, with a minor in Petroleum Geology. He is a member of the American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL). Mr. Taylor has received numerous awards for his support of philanthropic and educational causes throughout Texas. He has also been involved in funding the newly created Energy Management Program at The University of Texas-McCombs School of Business through his establishment of the Brett Taylor Royalty Trust Energy Management Program Endowed Excellence Fund, which is a permanent endowment at the school.